Coordinated by Arthur Knight

4 Responses to “”


  1. 1 Scott McKinnon December 2, 2007 at 9:21 am

    Hello All

    A quick introduction – I am a PhD candidate at University of Technology, Sydney. I will be presenting at the Glow in Their Eyes Conference and look forward to meeting many of you there.

    Earlier in the year I had some discussions with Kate Bowles and (via email) Arthur about the possibility of a graduate chapter of ICARG/Homer. My initial thoughts were to try to develop an online community of graduate students perhaps centred on a blog/wiki etc. This idea sprang originally from my participation in the e-seminar series which many of you joined in on. I found that a valuable experience as it was a rare oppurtunity both to connect to academics and with other graduate students.

    I’m not sure just how formal or informal such a group would need to be, but I think the value would lie in allowing graduate students to connect to one another and to develop a community of practice around the various areas of research into histories of cinema-going. Creating such a group as part of ICARG would allow we students a connection to academics and you may find yourselves asked to join in with the group to discuss your work in an online forum.

    At Arthur and Kate’s suggestion, I’ll be at the meeting that proceeds the Glow in Their Eyes conference and will be happy to expand on my ideas there. In the meantime, does anyone have any thoughts on the (admittedly very vague) concept I’ve discussed here?

    Scott

  2. 2 bestqualitycrab December 3, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Hi Scott,
    Thanks for a great post – our first item of feedback and a good one too! My initial thought is to ask what it is you specifically think will be enhanced through the creation of a separate online space for students – rather than a forum opportunity for students and paid academics alike. I guess my question stems from my belief that so much of the research work done by post-graduate students in this area is already operating at a level of expertise that rivals anything being produced by others in the field and we could all stand to learn from each other. But I hasten to add that I do understand how a student driven forum would be a less intimidating opportunity to discuss ideas for researchers who are starting out.
    cheers
    Deb

  3. 3 Scott McKinnon December 11, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Hi Deb

    Thanks for the reply. It is a good point that you make as it would be useful all round to provide the kind of space where both students and paid academics can participate in discussion, however I do think that a student space would be less intimidating. Students may have a tendency to defer to the knowledge of paid academics if the group were a joint one – rather than just being unafraid to toss out some ideas which might not yet be completely thought through.

    I hope, however, that there would be active participation from paid academics on more of a drop-in basis. For example, participating from time to time to discuss a paper or some of your research with the group, or to discuss a particular topic as part of a seminar. This would hopefully provide opportunities to spread knowledge between academics and students.

    Cheers
    Scott

  4. 4 bitch August 15, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you
    amend your site, how can i subscribe for a weblog site?

    The account aided me a appropriate deal. I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your
    broadcast provided bright transparent idea


Leave a Reply

September 2007
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

